top of page
  • bhdiversity

Happy Kwanzaa!

Updated: Oct 27, 2020

Happy Kwanzaa! Dr. Maulana Karenga created the seven-day celebration in 1966. Each day highlights a different principle. Day one focuses on umoja, which means unity.

Habari Gani? (Pronounced: Ha-beery Gah-nee)

The First Principle of Kwanzaa is Umoja (pronounced: you-mo-ja) which means Unity.

Kwanzaa is a week-long celebration that is celebrated in the United States, as well as other countries with populations of African descendants. This holiday is celebrated from December 26th through January 1st.

Each night celebrants light a new candle on the kinara, a seven-branched candelabra. The seven candles, one black, three red and three green, represent the people, the struggle and the future, as well as the seven principles. Gifts are often given to children.

Habari Gani? Kujichagulia

Kujichagulia (Pronounced: koo-jee-chah-GOO-lee-ah) is the second principle of Kwanzaa which means self-determination.

Fast Kwanzaa Facts: The Number 7. There are 7 Principles and 7 Primary Symbols that emphasize a unique set of values and ideals during the 7 days of Kwanzaa which is also spelled with 7 letters.

Day 3 of Kwanzaa

Call: Habari Gani? (What’s Going on?) Response: Ujima

To learn more about the meaning of Ujima, please read below.

Day 4 of Kwanzaa Principles.

Habari Gani? Ujamaa (pronounced: oo-jah-mah) ni Habari Gani!

Ujamaa mean Cooperative Economics and is the 4th of 7 principles of Kwanzaa.

6 views0 comments


bottom of page